25
Oct
10

Lights on collaboration with BMTH

In what appears to be a complete coincidence, Canadian electro pop starlet LIGHTS was available to collaborate with Sheffield metallers BMTH on their upcoming critically lauded third album There Is a Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let’s Keep It a Secret (5/5 Kerrang, 9/10 Rock Sound, 9/10 Metal Hammer), released worldwide early October.

February 2009 saw both LIGHTS and BRING ME THE HORIZON both on tour passing through Rhode Island, and a particularly bad blizzard left both acts holed up in the same hotel, at loose ends. Even though both acts had not met previous to that fateful wintery evening, drinks and conversations (mostly about video games and zombies) ensued – welcomed hangouts were had by all.

Fast forward to Summer 2010, and Bring Me The Horizon are recording their follow up to 2008’s smash Suicide Season. In need of a female vocalist to perform on the album, the BMTH camp approach LIGHTS to see if she would like to collaborate on the new album. In another bizarre twist of fate, she happens to be in Los Angeles, exactly where BMTH vocalist Oli Sykes was finishing up recording his vocals at Sunset Lodge Studios.

“I’ve collaborated with quite a few people I’ve met along the way, like Silverstein, Ten Second Epic, and The Secret Handshake. It keeps things interesting and gives me a chance to step outside of my norm.” LIGHTS notes.

“I was always in bands growing up, metal, pop punk, so it feels pretty comfortable for me. In terms of my vocals [on the BMTH album], it was interesting to hear them treated the way they were. It’s sweet to hear my voice presented in a different way, it really works with the songs.”

“The record is fantastic. As a whole, I’m honoured to have been part of it. I think the fans that know me pretty well, know my background and all of my other collaborations, will not be surprised at all. Those that only associate me with electro music might be a little surprised!”

And as for future collaborations? “No plans at the moment but I won’t rule it out! I’d love to if the chance ever presented itself.”


0 Responses to “Lights on collaboration with BMTH”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


October 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031